top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily

Labor and Delivery Story

Let me just start by saying there is no love like the love for your child! I am a mommy of a now 7 week old baby boy and my life has changed drastically (in a good way). I am absolutely in love with my son and I wouldn’t change my life as a mom for anything. Lets just jump right into the good, the bad, and the ugly of mom life!

First off, giving birth is not as bad as everyone seems to claim (at least for me). I think the worst part of a natural birth is definitely the RECOVERY! That was awful! Who’s with me? The contractions aren’t the most comfortable thing and they are painful, don’t get me wrong, but its all worth it in the end once you see your beautiful baby.

My contractions started at about 11:30 am on Tuesday June 20th, I personally didn’t even think that these were the real deal, like I said everyone claimed them to be HELL. At about 8:00 pm that same night I thought I should go into the hospital to get checked because the contractions were still continuing. I had gone into the hospital and I was 3 and a half centimeters dilated so my doctor had me walk around for about an hour. I was checked again and I was then at a 5! From here on out it seems like time flew by.

They then had admitted me into Labor and Delivery and I had received my epidural around 11:00 pm. Now this whole thing was a breeze! At around 2:00 am I was now dilated to 7 centimeters.

Around this time a flood of nurses came running in… I was in shock, my husband and mom were on edge. My sons heartbeat was dropping significantly fast. My contractions were to close together that his heart didn’t have time to recuperate. They had administered a shot into my leg to stop my contractions, which had lasted about 15 minutes. Then about an hour later it had happened again. They had me on oxygen and started to prep for an emergency c-section. At this point I knew I had to be strong because this was my biggest fear. I started to breathe calmly and tried to relax. I had then asked the doctor to check my dilation and I was now at a 10. My sons heartbeat had fully recuperated and I was able to start pushing at 5:00 am. After 24 minutes of pushing and laughing at my husbands reaction our son Ryder was born.

Ryder Anthony Samuelson / June 21, 2017 / 5:24 AM / 20 1/2 inches / 7 lbs 6 oz


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page